Honey Sesame Cauliflower Bites

img_4366

 

I followed this recipe from So Beautifully Real and am in love. While I typically like roasting my cauliflower and using the sauce – sans breading – this breading is spot on.

What I also like about this recipe is you can bread it, then dress it up with whichever sauce you would like (I’m thinking hot sauce/bbq…).

Two ways I deviated with this recipe was using fresh honey and panko bread crumbs rather than rice crumbs. I think it would be equally great with maple syrup. I just happened to have a large amount of honey on hand, thanks to all of my beekeeper friends.

I strongly recommend you try this recipe!

1 head of cauliflower, cut into bite-sized pieces

Batter:

  • 1 c flour
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp onion
  • ½ tsp salt
  • 1 c almond milk
  • 1 c toasted panko (set aside)

Glaze Options:

  • Your favorite BBQ sauce
  • Frank’s Hot Sauce
  • Sweet Citrus Glaze (below)
    • 1 Tbls vegan butter
    • ½ c maple syrup
    • 2 Tbls tamari (soy sauce)
    • Juice from one lemon
    • 2 tsp toasted sesame oil
    • 1 tsp onion powder
    • 1 tsp garlic powder
    • 2 Tbls mirin
    • Cornstarch mix (set this aside) ½ c warm water with 2 ½ tsp cornstarch
  1. Heat oven to 400F
  2. Whisk the dry batter ingredients together, slowly add in the almond milk
  3. Coat florets with batter, roll in panko, set florets on a lined baking sheet
  4. Bake for 25 minutes, flipping cauliflower over after 12 minutes
  5. While wings are baking, you can make the sauce
  6. In a pan, melt butter, then add remaining ingredients (withhold the cornstarch)
  7. Bring to a simmer, slowly whisk in cornstarch mix. Once sauce thickens, remove from heat
  8. Dip the wings in the glaze, return to lined baking sheet, bake for about 10 minutes, flipping after 5 minutes

Leave a comment