Vegan Biscuits and Gravy

Biscuits and gravy must be one of the least photogenic foods out there….

IMG_1509

Case in point. Moving on, it was incredibly simple to make, especially since I used a vegan, ready made biscuit. Do I recommend always doing this? Absolutely not. Ready made vs. homemade, homemade wins hands down every time. However, let’s be real, some of us don’t want to knead out a batch at 9am. We have other things to do, places to be, etc.

For the gravy, I used a package of Trader Joe’s frozen mushrooms. It was all I had on hand, and I wanted the sauce to have some substance. I pulsed the mushrooms in the food processor a few times. Then, in a cast iron skillet, I heated some oil and added the mushrooms. After the mushrooms were cooked, I added 1 Tbls of flour, along with salt, pepper and paprika. I cooked the flour into the mushrooms and slowly whisked in some unflavored almond milk. I let the gravy thicken and removed from the heat. Add a generous portion of gravy to each biscuit. If you’re feeling adventurous, add a tofu scramble or fried egg to the dish.

Leave a Reply

