Curried Sweet Potato Noodle Salad with Roasted Cauliflower

2015/01/img_1502.jpg

I LOVE THIS DISH. A dish which happened to be a very random creation. I had some sweet potatoes to use, so I thought I’d pull out the spiralizer. Other ingredients I had to work with included cauliflower and celery. It didn’t take long for me to think of a curry roasted cauliflower salad, and it seemed fitting to use the sweet potato noodles as a base.

First, I quickly blanched the spiralized noodles. This is optional, it simply removes some of that unpleasant starchyness.

Next, roast the cauliflower (toss florets in coconut oil, salt, pepper and a dusting of curry powder) at 400F until tender.

Then, dice the celery. Soak some golden raisins in boiling water, drain. Toast a handful of blanched slivered almonds. Combine all ingredients in a large bowl with the blanched noodles. Add the roasted cauliflower once it has cooled.

Finally, the dressing! I used a specialty curry powder with a little garam masala. To this I added honey and rice vinegar. I mixed this mixture well, and slowly drizzled in olive oil. Taste along the way to determine which flavor you need more or less of. For example, too vinegary? Add more oil. Too bland? Add more spice/salt.

Leave a Reply

