Veggie Pad Thai with Tofu and a Ginger-Almond Butter Sauce

2015/01/img_1500.jpg

Before making this dish, I debated whether to use egg or tofu. Since I was making this for my significant other, who has never tried tofu, I was hesitant. However, it wasn’t a long debate. I figured if he didn’t like the tofu – more for me! I was using Trader Joe’s marinated, extra firm tofu, which I find to be absolutely delicious for tofu standards.

For the sauce, I sadly did not measure this. I’ve learned to have fun with sauces, either using recipes as guides or having made so many sauces this summer, I have an understanding of what ingredients you need more/less of. For the ginger-almond butter sauce, I did a generous amount of minced ginger, probably 1″ chunk. I also used two cloves of garlic, a little rice vinegar, almond butter, agave, liquid aminos and water to create the desired consistency. I easily used 1/3-1/2 c almond butter. I probably had 2 tsp- 1 Tbls of aminos (it was a bit salty, my almond butter was raw though; always use less or omit salt if using salted nut butters). And 1-2 Tbls of sweetener. Basically, for my sauces, I prefer a heavier ‘fat’ i.e. oil or butter. Next is vinegar, sweetener, then aminos/soy sauce. Always start small, taste, and add whatever your taste buds want you to add!

In a skillet, I sautéed the tofu, carrots, onion, red pepper and broccoli. To this I added rice noodles and the ginger-almond sauce. I topped the dish with fresh cilantro and sriracha. The only thing that my dining companion did not like was the cilantro…the tofu was a hit! Hoorah!

Leave a Reply

