Eggs Florentine

2015/01/img_1499.jpg

Eggs Benedict has always intimidated me. The perfectly poached egg and the velvety, delicate sauce; seemed like enigmas. With time, practice, and neat kitchen gadgets, I found a recipe which I am proud of.

First, the poached egg. I’ve tried vinegar in boiling water, while swirling, and it all sounds magical. In reality I ended up with a stringy, miserable looking egg. Luckily, my friend took pity on me and gave me some PoachPods. These silicone cups worked very well. You still need to be careful transferring the eggs, which sounds obvious, but I too easily burst a yolk on the first try. The shape is a little awkward as well, it doesn’t stay on the muffin/veggies very well; about long enough to take this photo.

With the sauce, you must be cautious as it can quickly become scrambled eggs (the primary ingredients are eggs and butter). Keep the sauce on a very low heat, or remove from the heat completely until you are ready to serve. Even on the lowest setting, the edges of my sauce were turning from liquid to solid.

Hollandaise sauce is as follows:

– 2 sticks unsalted butter
– 2 yolks
– juice of 1 lemon
– pinch of cayenne
– salt and pepper

1. Melt butter in a small sauce pan
2. Separately, whisk the yolks, lemon juice and water until it begins to froth
3. Remove the melted butter from the heat and very slowly add the frothy yolk mixture. Leave sauce in the pan, removed from the heat. Reheat over low heat, while whisking, if necessary

Once you have the poached egg and sauce, the veggies in-between are your call. I love the pairing of spinach and sun-dried tomato, so I went the florentine route. I sautéed the spinach in olive oil, adding minced garlic, salt and pepper.

I encourage you to get creative and have fun with this recipe!

Leave a Reply

