Roasted Broccoli and Portabella Piccata

IMG_1497.JPG

The Veg Way is back up and running! The past few weeks were incredibly transitional for me. There has been a great deal of people coming and going; which has involved traveling and lots of celebrations! Additionally, I started a new job which has, in some ways, negatively impacted my kitchen time. I am happy to say that I still work one day a week at the Green Scene, so I am assured to get my weekly kitchen fix.

Another shift in my culinary journey has been incorporating more vegetarian meals. While my values are still in line with a plant-based diet, I am in a new relationship with someone who has had a more omnivorous diet. Previously, I had no qualms subsiding on a diet of broccoli, avocado and curtido. However, life evolves and changes. I am very happy to be cooking for two now and am excited to share many new recipes in the days ahead.

For the piccata, oh, how I love piccata. I had a piccata dish in November and, I kid you not, my mouth has been salivating ever since. It took some time, but eventually I got around to recreating the dish. Generally I am not a huge fan of pasta, but I must say the egg noodles compliment the dish nicely. If you care to veganize this, simply use a vegan pasta and olive oil instead of butter.

The measurements are ballparked, but it’s pretty close. Here is what I did:

1. Boil water and cook approximately 5oz of egg noodles
2. Heat oven to 400F, cut 1 head of broccoli into florets, coat with olive oil, salt and pepper. Roast for 10 minutes or until tender
3. Sauté 8oz portabella in olive oil or butter
4. Add the veggies to the pasta
5. In the portabella skillet, melt a stick of butter, add 1-2 cloves minced garlic, 1 Tbls capers and lemon juice. Cook until butter is melted and garlic is fragrant (2-3 minutes). Drizzle over pasta and top with fresh parmesan cheese and cracked black pepper

2 responses

Leave a Reply

