Mason Jar Brownies

SONY DSC

One thing I am not: craftsy. I avoid pinterest because I see a lot of cool things that I would like to do, but when it comes to the follow through, I quickly become frustrated at my inability to be creative (yes, I realize things other than craft projects exist on pinterest…) Regardless, there is one project that I’ve wanted to try for awhile and that’s making brownies in a jar. I’ve had a hankering to take this on over the holidays, but then when the time comes, I get consumed with a million other menial tasks. Thankfully, I have a bridal shower coming up and I am strapped for cash. Perfect time to test out a mason jar brownie recipe.

After some searching, I came across Alicia Silverstone’s post and it seemed like a perfect fit. Once I had the jar prepared, it occurred to me that I should actually test the recipe out…I am so glad that I did…Sigh. It’s way more cake than brownie and the whole wheat flour gives it a grainier/healthier feel, which is okay, if that’s what you’re going for. While this recipe is acceptable, I will definitely be on the prowl for a different one that offers a chewier and gooeyer consistency 🙂

Ingredients

– 3/4 c white flour
– 3/4 c whole wheat flour (or just do 1 1/2 c white…)
– 1/2 c cocoa powder
– 1 tsp baking powder
– 1 1/2 tsp baking soda
– 1 1/2 c sugar
– 1 tsp salt
– 1 c chocolate chips (in her recipe, she uses these for the frosting…I use these for more chocolaty goodness inside the brownie; that and I loathe frosting)

Steps…
1) Combine above ingredients in a large mason jar (at least 32oz, I struggled squeezing my chips in)
2) On a card, write the instructions below, and additional ingredients

1). Add mason jar ingredients to a large bowl
2). In a medium bowl, whisk together the following wet ingredients:

– 3/4 c non-dairy milk
– 3/4 c brewed coffee
– 1/2 c canola oil

3). Add wet to dry, mix until everything is combined
4). Bake at 325F for 25-30 minutes. Let cool before cutting

Leave a Reply

