Palak Tofu

20140730-175123-64283075.jpg

Ok…So, I have voiced my frustrations with being unable to create an awesome Indian dish. Well, I think I am finally on the right track! I absolutely love this recipe from Vegan Richa.

The only thing that was somewhat amiss with the recipe was the serving size. After making the meal, I’d say it serves 1-2…but if you can squeeze two more servings out of this, more power to you. Perhaps I was just so smitten with it, I was eager to eat it all!!!

Ingredients
For the tofu:
– oil
– 1/2 of Trader Joe’s super firm tofu (I used 8 oz of the 16 oz package) cut into little cubes
– 1/2 tsp cumin powder
– 1/2 tsp garam masala
– 1/2 tsp garlic powder
– 1/2 tsp cayenne

For the curry sauce:
– 2 c spinach
– 1/4 c water
– 1/4 c almond milk
– 2 Tbls raw cashews, soaked for 30 min
– 2 cloves garlic
– 1 tsp ginger powder (or fresh ginger)
– 1 medium tomato
– 1/4 teaspoon garam masala

1. Mix the spices for the tofu, set aside. Add oil to a skillet, turn heat to medium and once hot, add the tofu
2. Cook the tofu until it begins to brown. Then, add the spices. Cook for about 5 minutes
3. Mix all sauce ingredients in a blender or food processor. Add to the spiced tofu and simmer until the sauce thickens. Use cayenne/salt/pepper to taste

20140730-180051-64851047.jpg

Leave a Reply

