Sriracha-Maple Glazed Tofu

20140728-203959-74399370.jpg

Tofu seems to be one of those proteins that people love or hate. And, for the haters, I’d guess it’s because they’ve had a bad experience with the block of bean curd. While tofu can be intimidating to work with, I guarantee you, it can be incredibly delicious if it’s properly prepared.

For this simple dish, I used Trader Joe’s super firm tofu (16oz). I cut the block in half and saved the other half for later. With the 8oz block, I cut 4x4x4 so I was left with nicely shaped cubes. Then, in a sauté pan, I heated sunflower oil and once it was hot, I added the tofu. I cooked the tofu for about 5 minutes or until it was brown on multiple sides. Next it was time for the glaze. I used a simple combination of sriracha, maple syrup, barbecue sauce and a little ketchup. I covered the tofu in the glaze and continued cooking at a medium heat. Once the glaze begins to caramelize and create a crust, remove the tofu from the heat and enjoy!

One response

Leave a Reply

