Killer Baked Beans

20140727-184353-67433048.jpg

Nothing beats a side of baked beans in the summertime. They are quite simply, “the bees knees.” I grew up on canned baked beans and they are a definite go-to comfort food. However, as I’ve grown older, I’ve sought out healthier versions, straying away from readymade brands which are often loaded with sugar and preservatives; opting to bake my own.

It would have been a much more impressive dish, had I made the time and effort to soak my beans, but isn’t that always the case? Instead, I condensed the cook time by relying on canned beans…I know, I know. Still, this recipe blows any readymade version out of the water. And you can definitely play around with the sugar level to add/reduce sweetness. I found that the amount given was just perfect.

Ingredients
– 1/2 large yellow onion, diced
– 1 20 oz can white kidney beans (cannellini)
– 1 15 oz can red kidney beans
– 1 15 oz can tomato sauce
– 1 tsp dijon mustard
– 1 Tbls Worcestershire sauce (I use Annie’s)
– 2 Tbls liquid smoke
– 3 Tbls real maple syrup (can sub agave or honey, but maple syrup really should be used here)

1. Preheat oven to 325 F
2. Sauté onions in a little oil or water, cook until soft and caramelized
3. Drain and rinse beans, set aside. In a casserole dish, add tomato sauce, dijon, Worcestershire sauce, liquid smoke, and maple syrup. Whisk together. Add beans and caramelized onion
4. Bake covered for 15 minutes and uncovered for 15 minutes

Leave a Reply

