Product Review: Neat Burger Mix

20140705-203326-74006103.jpg

We received a few new products to sample at the store and I was given this meat substitute mix by Neat to test out. I have not tried many dry burger mixes before so I don’t have much to compare this to. However, I still was very disappointed with this product.

The mixture can be made into crumbles or patties. I made mine into patties. It can also be made vegetarian (with egg) or vegan (with egg replacer). I did the latter and used flax egg.

The spices that were used seemed to compete with each other and I wasn’t really sure what type of flavor profile they were striving for. I think with some innovation, the mix could be used as an add-in to a veggie burger recipe. For example, if a veggie burger recipe calls for bread crumbs, perhaps using some of this blend? I just feel that the mix on its own is lacking. Those are my two cents!

Leave a Reply

