Raw Cleanse: Day 2

Day 2, infamous Day 2. Today, I struggled. I had a pear and banana salad for breakfast. Mid-day I sipped on a carrot/orange/apple/lemon/ginger juice. By the afternoon I was ravenous. Oops. Major mistake: going too long without eating. For lunch I had a simple garden salad (lettuce/carrots/cucumber/green onion) along with some leftover pasta from last night. You know what would’ve helped? These:

SONY DSC

This image isn’t exact to the bites that I made today…but…pretty close. Again, carrying nuts, dried fruit and veggies along really helps.

The Simple Veganista has a ton of great recipes, some of which are raw. Hoorah! I played around with her almond vanilla bites and below is what I came up with. These are great to have on hand when you’re feeling an “OMG, I need to eat something, NOW” moment.

Another note, for future cleanse success, it is crucial to have a plan to follow. I’m hoping you can draw from these meal plans for ideas, inspiration and encouragement!

Almond Vanilla Chocolate Chip Energy Bites
– 1 c raw almonds
– 1/2 c oats
– 2 Tbls almond butter
– 1 Tbls peanut butter
– 3 Tbls maple syrup (or raw honey to be technical)
– 1 tsp vanilla
– 1/2 c dates, soaked
– 2 Tbls water
– dash of salt
– 1/4 c carob chips

1. Place all ingredients into a food processor. Pulse until everything is well combined. Roll into bite-sized pieces and place in the freezer. Enjoy when needed!

Leave a Reply

