A Night in the Life of a Caterer

I’ve been working at a local natural foods store in town and we often cater events such as conferences and weddings. Last weekend we catered a dinner for a Wellness Retreat at the nearby hotel. The menu consisted of a spring salad
SONY DSC

sous vide chicken (sorry, not veg)
SONY DSC

and chocolate avocado mousse
SONY DSC

I was in charge of the latter, the dessert. I have attended many conferences and weddings in my day, and I knew the staff behind the scenes put forth a lot of work, but I never realized just how much work went into preparing and executing such an event takes.
In the end, it was truly a remarkable experience. I worked a 60 hour work week and tested over 10 varieties of mousse before settling on this one. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did!

Ingredients
– 1 can coconut milk
– 10 cardamom pods, crushed
– 2 cinnamon sticks
– 2 avocadoes
– 1 tsp vanilla
– 1/4 c cocoa powder
– 1-2 tsp grand marnier
– juice and zest from 1 blood orange
– 4 Tbls agave
– 1 Tbls maple syrup
– 1/2 tsp salt

1. Simmer coconut milk with cardamom and cinnamon for 10 minutes. Remove from heat, strain spices, reserve 1/3 c
2. Blend 1/3 c coconut spiced milk mixture with remaning ingredients. Chill overnight. Garnish with mint and candied blood orange

Leave a Reply

