Butterscotch Coconut Crunch Cookies

20140409-230517.jpg

It’s not every day I use butterscotch in my baking. For one, it’s not vegan. And two, I find it way too sweet for my liking. However, my dad is quite fond of the flavor and when I saw this recipe, I thought I’d be the delightful daughter that I am and whip him up a batch. The cookies turned out really well. I modified it slightly and you can certainly tweak it to your liking. Feel free to sub the egg for a flax egg (1 tbls ground flax+3 tbls water) and/or chocolate or carob chips to make the dessert vegan friendly.

Enjoy!

Ingredients

  • 1/2 C canola oil
  • 1/2 C light brown sugar
  • 1/4 C granulated sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 1/2 C flour
  • 3/4 tsp baking soda
  • 3/4 C unsweetened coconut
  • 3/4 C crushed chowmein noodles
  • 1 C butterscotch chips
  • pinches of sea salt to top cookies with

Directions

1. Mix the canola oil through vanilla in a large bowl. Beat until everything is well combined

2. Sift together the baking soda and flour. Add the dry to the wet. Fold in the coconut, noodles and chips

3. Using a teaspoon, spoon batter onto a cookie sheet. Sprinkle with sea salt. Bake in a 350F preheated oven for about 12 minutes

Leave a Reply

