Sweet and Spicy Stir-Fry

2013-12-21_20-58-07_386

I have a few random veggies in my crisper that aside from roasting or making a stew, I wasn’t quite sure what to do with. Then a light bulb went off, STIR FRY! I’m not sure why I always forget that one… My bowl came out a bit bland, so I am adjusting the recipe. If you’re looking for a simple, non-threatening recipe, this is definitely one to try. You can’t really go wrong with this. And if you’re worried about overdoing it with the spices, add them to taste at the end.

Ingredients

  • 1 c short grain brown rice (or whatever you have on hand, really)
  • 2 c water
  • 1 yellow onion, diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • sesame oil
  • tamari (or shoyu, coconut aminos, soy sauce)
  • 1 carrot, sliced in half moons
  • 1/4 head of cauliflower, cut into small florets
  • 10-20 brussel sprouts, halved
  • 1 egg (I’d have used tofu, but I was out)
  • 1 tsp hoisin sauce
  • 1 tsp chili garlic sauce
  • 1/2 tsp powdered ginger
  1. Start by getting your rice cooking. I rely solely on my rice cooker, but stove top works fine as well. Follow package instructions for cooking
  2. While the rice is steaming away, sauté the onion and garlic in sesame oil
  3. Once the onion is soft, add in the remaining veg, along with a little water. Keep heat at medium, cover, and stir occasionally to check the tenderness of the veg
  4. When the veg is soft, and the rice is finished, add in the rice
  5. If using egg, I like to scramble mine in a separate pan, then add to the rice mixture
  6. Finally, add in the remaining sauces and spices. Remember to taste as you add, using more or less to your liking
Leave a Reply

