Dark Chocolate with Sea Salt Cookies

20131213-182652.jpg

Ask anyone, I cringe when I hear salt. I omit it from most of my recipes and never season a meal with it. Yet, for some reason, when it comes to chocolate I love the salty pairing. So when I came across this recipe, I couldn’t wait to taste them. I must say, they are pretty spectacular. I’ve already had 3 and the night isn’t over yet.

Ingredients

-1 1/4 c all-purpose flour
-1/3 c unsweetened cocoa powder
-1/2 tsp baking soda
-1 stick plus 3 tablespoons butter at room temperature
-2/3 c packed light brown sugar
-1/4 c granulated sugar
-1/2 tsp fine sea salt
-1 tsp vanilla extract
-3/4 c chocolate chips

1. Sift together the dry ingredients, set aside
2. In a mixer, cream the butter, then add the sugars, salt and vanilla. Mix for 2 minutes or until the ingredients are creamy
3. Turn the mixer off, add the dry ingredients, cover the mixer with a towel and mix until the dry ingredients are fully incorporated
4. Split the dough in half, wrapping each portion in plastic wrap and rolling it into a log
5. Chill in the refrigerator overnight
6. Preheat oven to 325F and cut the dough into slices. The dough may break while cutting, just mash the broken pieces back together. Bake for 12-14 minutes

Enjoy!

20131213-184117.jpg

Leave a Reply

