Memorial Day Feast

When it comes to a meal, I love variety in color, flavor and texture. This feast met all those criteria. I made a simple holiday spread of BBQ cauliflower bites, warm tahini kale salad and smoky sweet potato fries.

First, I prepped all of my veggies…

SONY DSC

I started working on the kale first by steaming it for about 15 minutes. After it was bright green and tender, I sautéed some garlic and added the kale to the pan.

While the kale was cooking, I preheated the oven to 400 F. I tossed the cauliflower (1 head) in 2 tsp oil. I also tossed the sweet potato fries (2 potatoes, sliced) in 2 tsp oil and sprinkled it with a cayenne spice mix from Penzy’s. Both pans went in for 10 minutes. I removed the cauliflower and tossed it in barbecue sauce. Once you have a good coating, return to the oven. Be sure to stir the fries around at this time too. Cook for another 10-15 minutes.

To finish the kale off, I added a drizzle of Trader Joe’s Goddess dressing along with a handful of sunflower seeds and raisins. Enjoy!

SONY DSC

Leave a Reply

