Veggie Chickpea Soup

A good soup never fails to warm your soul. And soups are one of the easiest meals to throw together without following a recipe. When soup is on my mind, I first decide which type of base I want: brothy or creamy. Then I decide whether or not to make it acidic by adding tomatoes. Next comes the flavor profile (spices and herbs): cumin, curry, chili, chipotle, coriander, nutmeg, cinnamon, thyme, oregano, rosemary, broth powder, dill, turmeric, and so on. Finally texture: blended or chunky.

The veggie chickpea soup I made today is inexpensive, simple and delicious. It’s brothy, non-acidic, and chunky. I kept the spice/herb profile to a minimum, just nutritional yeast and black pepper. I wanted the flavors of the veggies and stock to be the base of this soup. I hope you enjoy it!

Veggie Chickpea Soup

  • 1/2 large onion, diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 3-4 carrots, chopped
  • 1 Tbls nutritional yeast
  • 12 oz fresh spinach
  • 1 can of chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 3/4 c rice (I used short grain brown and pink)
  • 1 container of veggie broth and 1 c water
  1. Saute the onion and garlic in water or oil until soft and fragrant
  2. Add the carrots and spinach (*note, I’d recommend adding the spinach at the end, it didn’t hold up well during the simmering process)
  3. Cook for 5 minutes
  4. Add remaining ingredients and bring to a boil. Cover and reduce heat. Simmer for 30 minutes or until the rice is cooked
  5. Season to taste

SONY DSC

Leave a Reply

