Tofurky Chowder

Corn is a food I don’t cook with very often. Why? It’s in everything. I really don’t see the need to add more of it into my diet. However, when making a chowder, it is necessary. And a chowder sounded awfully good today. I used up the last of my tofurky slices and everything came together great. I made use of the corns natural ability to thicken and didn’t add any flours or butter rich roux. I hope you enjoy this as much as I do! (rhyme intended)

Tofurky Chowder

  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 3 carrots, diced
  • oil/water for sautéing
  • 1/2 bag frozen corn
  • 2 “not-chicken” broth cubes
  • 4 c of water (you could really boost this up to 5 c, I found it a little salty with just 4 c)
  • 4 slices of tofurky roast, cubed (approx. 1 1/2 c)
  1. Saute the onion and carrot in a little oil, add water as oil wears off
  2. Once the veggies are tender, add the corn
  3. Next, add the broth cubes and water, bring to a boil
  4. Reduce heat and use an immersion blender to bend half of the soup (I like some chunks for texture)
  5. After you’ve reached a desired consistency, add tofurky
  6. Bring to a simmer, cover, and let cook for 10 minutes to bring the flavors together

Leave a Reply

