Pumpkin Cupcakes with Cinnamon Icing

When I think of Thanksgiving, I have an array of ambiguous feelings. I think of things from the Europeans slaughtering the Natives to all of the fond family memories I have which includes great food and an awesome family to the poor turkeys that are on their way to the slaughter-house. Those turkeys painstakingly awaiting their death only to sit at the head of a table this Thursday, stuffed, dressed and baked, roasted, and/or fried.

I have to admit, it’s hard at times to be with my family during this holiday. To see the once beautiful bird’s cooked body on the table and keep my mouth shut about the suffering it went through is not an easy task. The reason I’ve chosen to not speak out at every holiday meal is because I know my audience. My family is deeply rooted in tradition and yet, they have come a long way in accepting my vegan lifestyle. So, in return, I will honor the tradition they see in the day, just as I’d like them to honor mine. When I have a fancy house of my own, my family will be the first to be invited to an amazing vegan Thanksgiving feast. Until then, we will compromise and make the day work the best we can together, as a family.

With that being said, there is an amazing vegan Thanksgiving gathering taking place tomorrow in Minneapolis. It’s hosted by Compassionate Action for Animals and has the best vegan food I will eat all year. I decided to make Isa’s Pumpkin Cupcakes with Cinnamon Icing. They turned out alright. I made a double batch and I feel like every time I do this, they turn out funky. The batter got sticky and was difficult to work with (probably because I over stirred). Then, all of the pans didn’t fit on one rack, so I had to rotate, and I’m worried a few may be undercooked. I have all year to work on my skill and these somewhat flopped on me!….I’m sure they’ll be devoured nonetheless.

If you’re interested in the recipe, pick up Isa’s book!

Leave a Reply

