Lentil and Squash Curry

Squash are such a wonderfully rich and hearty vegetable. I think I’ve had a buttercup squash sitting on my counter for at least a month now. I prefer buttercup because the skin is edible, whereas with most other squashes you need to peel the skin off – such a hassle! I found a recipe from Oh She Glows and modified it a little. This is honestly one of the best main dishes I have made yet. I’m pretty sure I said, “wow!” after tasting it…

Ingredients

  • 1 buttercup squash, cut into cubes
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 1 clove of garlic, minced
  • 1 tbls ginger, minced
  • oil
  • Martha’s curry mixture (2 tsp coriander, 2 tsp cumin, 1/4 tsp cinnamon, 3/4 tsp turmeric, 1/2-1 tsp cayenne)
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup vegetable stock + 3 cups water (do all vegetable stock if you want, this was all I had left)
  • 12 oz dried lentils
  • 1 bunch of kale
  1. Prep your veggies. Then heat up the curry and salt mixture in some oil. After about a minute, when the spices are fragrant, add the onion, garlic and ginger
  2. Saute until the onion is soft, then add in the squash. When the squash starts to get tender, add the remaining ingredients
  3. Bring to a boil, cover and simmer for about 30 minutes or until everything is nice and soft

Leave a Reply

