Dirty Lentils

Today was a total WTF day in the kitchen. I was hungry, but couldn’t decide for what. And I was lazy so I wanted something easy. I thought lentils sounded good and I had some peppers, onions and tomatoes on hand. I decided to create a spinoff of what I imagined dirty rice to be like. As you’ll see in the recipe list, there is one secret ingredient that I really gambled on. All in all, this turned out great and I had a lot of fun while making it.

Oh, and just a heads up, the only ingredient I physically measured was the lentils and veggies. I’m doing my best to estimate amounts, but please taste test along the way and modify as you like!

Dirty Lentils

  • 1/2 c dried lentils
  • 1 1/2 c water
  • 1/2 onion, diced
  • 1 clove of garlic, minced
  • 1 red pepper, diced
  • 1/2 poblano pepper, diced, with some seeds
  • 2 tsp chili powder
  • 3 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 c – 1 c vegan bloody mary mix (yep!)
  • 1 tomato
  1. Boil the water and add the dried lentils. Cover and simmer until almost soft (a little crunch is okay because it will cook with the other goodies)
  2. Saute the onion and garlic in some water. When this is soft and fragrant, add the peppers and spices
  3. By this time the lentils should be done. Drain them and add to the frying pan. Add the bloody mary mix, bring to a boil and begin to reduce the liquid down
  4. Finally, add in the chopped tomato. This will create more juice, so again, cook it down
  5. Enjoy with some buttered bread or whatever your cute cravings desire

Leave a Reply

