Wholesome Wheat Biscuits

Biscuits are such a nice treat. Unfortunately (or fortunately…) they are usually made with white flour. While the white flour creates a nice, delicate texture, it lacks in the nutrition department. So I decided to alter The Vegan Kitchen’s Buttery Biscuit recipe and used all whole wheat flour.

They turned out wonderful. Next time I may do half white and half whole wheat…for a nice mix of naughty and nice 🙂

  • 2 c whole wheat flour
  • 1 tbls baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 5 tbls earth balance butter
  • 3/4 c unsweetened soy milk
  1. Whisk the dry together. Cut in the butter with a fork or pastry cutter
  2. Add the soy milk, mix until combined. Knead for 2-3 minutes
  3. Pre-heat the oven to 450F
  4. Roll the dough out on a floured surface. Cut biscuits out with the rim of a glass
  5. Put on a greased baking sheet and bake for 12 minutes

2 responses

  1. I highly recommend you use either whole wheat pastry flour (if you didn’t) or white whole wheat flour (still whole grain, different type of wheat.) If you used ww bread flour, I imagine you found them a bit denser than you might have wanted? I bake always with ww flour and I use exclusively pastry. I’ve started playing with the white ww and like it, too. 🙂

    • It was just whole wheat flour…it didn’t say bread flour, but it didn’t say pastry either. It was fluffy at first, but didn’t rise as much as I would have liked. The ww flour was all I had on hand, so I just went with it. I will definitely use the pastry flour next time and likely half white/half wheat.

Leave a Reply

