Tofu Benedict

Let’s get real here, tofu scrambles get old after a while. I decided to venture outside of the box and get creative. I searched through a few tofu benedict recipes and came up with these two for the sauce and tofu. I modified the marinade by omitting the tomato paste. Both recipes turned out really good and I’d likely re-make them. However, next time I may slice the tofu differently, it was a bit thick.

Tofu Marinade

Let tofu soak for 20-60 minutes in the following: 2 tbls bragg’s liquid aminos (or tamari or shoyu), 2 tbls rice vinegar, 1 tsp chopped garlic and 1 tbls olive oil. Broil at high heat for about 10 minutes.

*During the same time the tofu is broiling, I opted to broil some veggies for my bennie so everything was nice and hot! I drizzled olive oil over the veggies and did a light dusting of salt/pepper.

Hollandaise Sauce

  • 2 tbls earth balance butter
  • 3/4 c unsweetened dairy free milk (I used flax)
  • 1 tsp lemon juice
  • 2 tbls nutritional yeast
  • dashes of: salt, pepper, cayenne, turmeric and mustard
  • 1 tbls cornstarch + 1/4 c unsweetened milk to make a thickener

Melt the butter and add the remaining ingredients. Bring this to a simmer. Add the slurry mixture. Bring to a boil. Once it thickens, remove from heat and cover.

Assemble the tofu and veggies onto a bread of your choice. Traditionally it’s served on an english muffin, but guess what? I didn’t have any. So I made do with some lightly toasted flax bread. Mmmm!

Now, pour hollandaise over the top. Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

