Pickle-icious

Pickles are one food I could never live without. I love them in everything, from sandwiches to pizzas to beer. They are the ultimate staple! You’d think I’d have made millions by now, but I haven’t. In fact, this was my first pickle recipe I ever attempted and I must say, it’s pretty spectacular. Next time I’d use a bit less pepper and maybe throw in some red pepper flakes. I’d also consider reducing the salt content just a smidge.

I highly recommend you try this out!

Ecopolitan’s Pickles

  • 1/8 cup fresh dill        
  • 8 garlic cloves, whole or sliced        
  • 1/2 cup white wine vinegar        
  • 1/2 cup apple cider vinegar        
  • 2 cups water        
  • 1/4 cup salt (necessary to preserve)        
  • 1/2 tsp ground black pepper        
  • 1/2 tbls turmeric (optional for color)        
  • 3 cucumbers, sliced into 1/3-inch rounds (add last)

Stir all ingredients except the cucumber together in a large bowl.  Add the cucumber slices and place something heavy (like a plate) on top in the bowl so that the cucumbers stay submerged under the surface of the liquid. Cover the bowl with a cloth to keep out bugs.  Let the cucumbers marinate at room temperature for 3 days.  Refrigerate when ready.

And here’s a pretty butterfly who happened to be posing ever so nicely while I was photographing the pickles.

2 responses

  1. I also love pickles. I’ll need to try this recipe! It looks awesome. My friend and I recently pickled some cucumbers and carrots with jalapenos and garlic. It was pretty amazing!

Leave a Reply

