Raw Dill Kale Crisps

I’ve been trying to do a juice cleanse the past few days and haven’t stuck to it very well. However, the foods that I have been cheating with are raw and delicious! My parents bought a dehydrator a year or so ago, and I was lucky enough to break it in today. Hopefully this inspires them to start putting it to use, otherwise it might disappear when I head back home.

Raw Dill Kale Crisps courtesy of the Rawtarian

  • 1 bunch of kale
  • 3 tbls olive oil
  • 3 tbls dill
  • 5 tbls nutritional yeast (although, I only used 4)
  • 3 tbls tamari/shoyu
  • 1/2 tsp salt (which I omitted)

Tear kale into bite-size, chip-like, pieces (leaving the stems out). Mix everything together. It’s easiest to use your hands. Make sure each future crisp has an equal coating on it.

Dehydrate at 120 F for an hour and then at 105 F for several hours. I had mine going for about 4 hours and finally bumped it back up, past 120 F to 135 F and left it there for a couple more hours. The crisps have a lot of potential, but were way too salty for my liking. Next time I will use at least a tablespoon less of the shoyu. I can’t wait to dehydrate some more!!

Leave a Reply

