Baking the Bean

Baked beans are a staple in my pantry. Growing up my friend and I would devour them, eating as a dip with Pringle’s potato chips. Today I’ve gone above and beyond, moving away from Bush’s vegetarian canned beans and making my very own! Huzzah! Now, if I could only use dried beans instead of canned…baby steps people.

*Note, I didn’t follow the last part of this recipe. I’ll bake it once I get up north. I did a quick taste test though and it’s fantastic. Happy fourth everyone!!

I followed Happy Herbivore’s recipe, just doubled it…

Baked Beans – serves 4

  • 1/2 onion, diced
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 15 oz can navy beans (drained and rinse, I always rinse!!)
  • 2 tbls ketchup
  • 2 tbls molasses
  • 1 tsp Dijon mustard
  • 1 tbls low sodium soy sauce (I used low sodium tamari)
  • 2-3 tbls pure maple syrup (next time, I’d lean towards using less)
  • salt and pepper, to taste (didn’t add either, soy sauce is enough)

Preheat oven to 300F. Cook onion and garlic in 1/4 cup water over high heat until the onion is translucent, about 2 minutes.

Add remaining ingredients.

Bring to a boil.

Once boiling, remove from heat and transfer mixture to a casserole dish, cover and bake for 30 minutes.

Remove from oven and let beans rest for 15 minutes, allowing the sauce to thicken. Stir to incorporate just before serving.

Nutritional info per serving: 160 calories, 0.1g fat, 33.9g carbohydrates, 6g fiber, 13.7g sugars, 6.3g protein.

Leave a Reply

