Dilly Chive Spread and a Tomato Veggie Soup

Nut spreads have always intimidated me. I don’t know why. Maybe I have some weird fear it will taste like a nut butter… Regardless I put my fears aside tonight and wow am I glad I did. This cashew spread knocked my sandles off! The recipe refers to it as a cheese, but I’m sorry, it tastes nothing like cheese. It tastes like an herby spread!

Here’s the scoop…

  • 1-1/2 c raw cashew pieces
  • 2  tsp squeezed lemon juice
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • dash of salt
  • 1/3  c water
  • 1 tsp dried dill
  •  2-3 chives, chopped
  • pepper, to taste

Place cashew pieces in a bowl, and submerge under water. They should be covered by at least 2-3 inches. Allow the cashew pieces to sit for about 3 hours.

Drain the cashews well in a colander over your sink, then place them in a food processor.

Add the lemon juice, dill, about 3/4 of the chives, garlic, salt and pepper, and let it run on high for one minute. Scrape down the sides of the food processor with a spatula, add the 1/3 cup water, and let it run on high for another 4-5 minutes, pausing every minute or two to scrape down the sides again.

Transfer to a bowl, and garnish with the remaining chives. It says to leave at room temp for a few days before transferring to the fridge, but I think that’s strange…I guess I’ll try it out. (Recipe retrieved from Jenn’s blog spot).

After that was done, I reheated a bowl of my tomato veggie soup. What tomato veggie soup is this? Yes I was too lazy to blog it when I made it on Sunday.

  • Oil
  • 1 onion
  • 2 celery stalks, chopped
  • 2 carrots, sliced
  • 2 potatoes, diced in bite sized cubes
  • 1 tsp dried thyme
  • 1/4 tsp dried tarragon
  • 4 c vegetable broth
  • 2 c water
  • 24 oz tomato sauce
  • 1 c corn

Saute the onion and celery in oil. When these become soft and fragrant, add everything except the tomato sauce and corn. Cover. Bring to a boil. Once boiling reduce to a simmer and cook for 10 minutes or until the veggies are soft. Now add in the tomato sauce and corn. Heat until everything is at a nice soup temperature. Salt and pepper to taste!

2 responses

Leave a Reply

