Celebratory Recovery Foods

I’ve been on MIA the past few weeks due to my internship, online class and persistent cold that’s unaware “no means no!” I may have pushed my limits a bit last night by indulging in some spirits for my friends birthday and am slowly climbing out of the hangover abyss. I was quite certain the birthday woman was in the same boat so I decided to whip up some nourishing meals to send her way.

First I made breakfast for myself (and my friend). I played with Isa’s recipe for a basic scramble in her Vegan Brunch book. I sauteed yellow onion, orange pepper and mushrooms in some oil. When this was soft, I added extra firm tofu that had been pressed in my sink. As the remaining water cooked out of the tofu, I poured in this seasoning mix (2 tsp cumin, 1 tsp dried thyme, 1/2 tsp tumeric, 1/2 tsp tamari, 2 tbls water). When this liquid was incorporated, I added 1/4 c nutritional yeast. I topped the scramble with some pepper and black sea salt to give it a more eggy taste. Sooo good!

Once my appetite was satiated, I went on to make some roasted veggies. I used the marinade from my best broccoli ever blog and threw in extra veggies like red onion, peppers and mushrooms in addition to the broccoli. It turned out great!

The final dish I made her was a batch of my rawcos. I had all the ingredients on hand so it was a perfect fit. No pictures for this one. I was pretty beat by the time I got done prepping/cooking/cleaning.

Leave a Reply

