Meatless Loaf

Last Monday I received my weekly e-mail from the Humane Society’s Meatless Monday recipe listserve. The recipe was for ‘meatloaf’ and I thought I would test this out. I was skeptic from the get-go because their recipe did not call for a binder, so I went ahead and added in some flaxmeal/water. Unfortunately the loaf still didn’t hold together well.

If you can get past the dysfunctional consistency, the taste is very delicious. My omnivorous father, who at one point would wrinkle his nose at a dish like this, couldn’t resist sinking his fork in to give it a taste test. His response, “Not a bad loaf, being a vegan one.” I’ll take this as a compliment…plus he did have several bites.

I think this recipe has potential, just needs additional ingredients to help hold it together. Any ideas?

HSUS Meatloaf

  • 12 oz package of meatless crumbles
  • 1 small onion, diced small
  • 1/2 tsp dried oregano
  • 1/4 tsp dried basil
  • 1/4 tsp dried thyme
  • 1/4 c ketchup
  • 2 tbls oil
  • 1/4 c bread crumbs (I used panko, it’s all I had on hand)
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp pepper

 

Mix all ingredients together. Pack firmly into a greased loaf pan (ideally you want a pan smaller than the one below, but I had to make do with this one!)

Cover with foil, and bake at 400 F for 20 minutes. Remove foil, add ketchup on top and bake for another 5-10 minutes. Let cool before slicing.

Leave a Reply

