Late Night Snack

My day today has been long and busy, yet I couldn’t help but dive right into the kitchen when I got home. I’ve been wanting to try out this “heart-healthy chocolate chip cookie” recipe. I started baking at 10:30pm and am just wrapping up now. I followed the recipe pretty closely, the only things I modified were the amount of chocolate chips (I prefer less) and salt. They turned out surprisingly well. They don’t taste healthy at all!

I ended up making 20 medium-large sized cookies…

  • 3 tbls canola oil
  • 2 c walnuts
  • 1 c light brown sugar (packed)
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1½ c oat flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2-1 tsp salt
  • ¼ tsp cinnamon
  • 2 c rolled oats
  • 1 c vegan chocolate chips

Throw the nuts into a food processor, pulse until they create a powder. Add 3 tbls oil and run for 2-3 minutes.

While this is going, boil 1/2 c water and add 1 c light brown sugar. After boiling, remove from heat.

Add walnut mixture to a bowl and pour in brown sugar mixture. To this add the vanilla extract. Stir out any lumps.

Sift the dry ingredients (except oats and chips) and add to wet. Let this sit and cool for a few minutes. Then fold in oats and chips. Bake at 350F for 8-10 minutes.

 

Leave a Reply

