Miso Chickenless Noodle Soup

My friend was feeling a little under the weather so I made him some comfort soup by modifying the classic chicken noodle. I sauteed 1 onion in oil, once soft I added 1 1/2 carrots (chopped) and several sticks of celery (chopped). While this was cooking I boiled 2 c of water and added a chickenless bouillon cube.

After the veggies all got acquainted, I added 1/2 tsp onion powder and two bay leaves. Then I poured in the chickenless broth along with 5 c of water, 1-2 tsp of white miso and a couple dashes of tamari. I let this simmer until the veggies were soft. Once soft I added some wheat soba noodles. I only broke them in half, but next time I think I would do thirds. Salt isn’t needed because the bouillon, miso and tamari have enough. Pepper to taste.

I can’t tell how it tastes exactly because I burnt my tongue on it, but it sure smells good!

2 responses

    • Lol, yes he’s fine and my tongue has regained its senses, so everything is dandy. The soup turned out pretty good! I am not sure I’d put white miso in it next time. I think I’d rather try it without. It turned out somewhat sweet for my liking.

Leave a Reply

