GF Hummus and Oat Bars!

I meant to take more pictures while making the oat bars, but I was in a hurry to get them in the oven and go for a run. I saw the recipe on Oh She Glow’s blog. They turned out pretty good. It always amazes me when recipes call for a good amount of sweetener and they end up tasting not sweet enough! I wouldn’t add anymore to this recipe though because 1/2 c maple syrup is a lot of sugar! I am excited to eat a whole bar for breakfast tomorrow!

Per Oh She Glows…(I modified it slightly, just with the banana and milk) Gluten Free if you use GF oat flour/oats

  • 1 c oat flour
  • 1 1/2 c regular (not instant) oats
  • 3 tbls chia seed
  • 1/2 c + 1 tbls ground flax
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp kosher salt
  • 1 1/2 c soy milk
  • 1/2 c pure maple syrup
  • 2 tbls peanut butter
  • 1/2 banana chopped
  • 1 tbls pure vanilla extract

Mix dry ingredients. Mix wet ingredients until well combined. Add wet into dry. Fold in fruit (you can add in other fruit and nuts too. I added fresh blueberries).

Pour into a lined (w/ parchment) 8×8 pan. Bake for 35-40 minutes.

I then went on to make a spicy hummus. I always forget how easy and inexpensive it is to make hummus. Mine never turns out as good as Holy Land’s though.

I am pretty sure this is gluten free…1 clove garlic, chopped in food processor. To that, add: 1 can (drained/rinsed) chickpeas, 2 tbls tahini, and reconstituted sun-dried tomatoes (I added boiling water to a handful of sun-dried tomatoes). Blend until smooth. Add sun-dried tomato water to the mix until you reach a desired consistency. I like mine smooth and creamy. To this I added some crushed red pepper and Cholula hot sauce. Magnifico!

And as I went downstairs to get my camera, I noticed my little friend in the window. S/he likes hanging out there. I am going to say it’s a boy and am naming him Wynn. Why Wynn? I don’t know, window? That’s my attempt at creativity. He is just one of a couple feral cats we are helping get through the winter.

Leave a Reply

