First Breakfast of 2012

I’ve only had vegan french toast from Seward Cafe, which is fricking amazing. I decided to gather ingredients and make Isa’s Fronch Toast which is also in her book Vegan with a Vengeance. I used Cinnamon Chip bread from Great Harvest Bread Company and I think this was the key ingredient.

I cut the pieces last night and let it sit out so it could get a little stale. I think this helps absorb the liquid.

Ingredients are…

  • Loaf of Italian or French bread, baguette shaped, preferably stale
  • 1/2 cup soy creamer (rice or soy milk would make a good substitute, preferably rice)
  • 1/2 cup rice milk or plain soy milk
  • 2 tablespoons corn starch
  • 1/4 cup chickpea flower
  • Several tablespoons canola or vegetable oil

 

 

It turned out so, so good!

Served with coffee out of my favorite cup!

 

Leave a Reply

