Blue Ribbon Pound Cake

Pound cake used to be one of my favorite desserts. Influential people like my grandmother and my 5th grade teacher had killer pound cake recipes. In fact, my grandmother won multiple blue ribbons at the Minnesota State Fair.

After receiving Isa Chandra Moskowitz’s Veganomicon for Christmas I was pleased to see a recipe for Vanilla Yogurt Pound Cake. I could hardly wait for it to come out of the oven! It tastes amazing. Although, I am not sure if I can say it tops my grandma’s, but certainly a close second 🙂

I slightly modified a few things from Isa’s recipe…

  • 1/2 c Amande plain yogurt
  • 1/2 c silken tofu, blended
  • 3/4 c vanilla flax milk
  • 1 1/4 c sugar
  • 1/2 c canola
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tsp orange zest
  • 2 c flour
  • 3 tbls arrowroot
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt

Mix wet, sift dry into wet. Stir together. Then mix with a mixer until the lumps are gone (about a minute). Pour into a greased 8×4 pan. Bake at 325 for 70 minutes.

Topped with my homemade strawberry jam, but it’s absolutely perfect plain, too!

7 responses

  1. Pingback: Pretty Pound Cake | The Veg Way

  2. Have you ever thought about including a little bit more than just
    your articles? I mean, what you say is fundamental and
    everything. However think of if you added some great visuals or videos to give your posts more,
    “pop”! Your content is excellent but with pics and videos, this blog could undeniably
    be one of the best in its field. Good blog!

Leave a Reply

