Baked Polenta with Sautéed Kale

I got to make dinner for some of my favorite people last night. I wanted to use up my polenta tube so I decided to make baked polenta/polenta lasagna. I don’t know if it can technically be a lasagna since there was only one layer of each ingredient, but oh well. It was very simple. I sliced the polenta into 1/2 inch thick rounds and placed them in an 8×8 dish. I then poured tomato sauce over and layered with vegan mozzarella. I baked it at 350 F for about 30 minutes (covered) and then broiled (uncovered) for about 5-10 minutes.

I actually started the kale before the polenta because it takes awhile for it to cook. I rinsed and destemmed two bunches of kale. Then I added them to a big pot, filled just with enough water to cover. Once the kale came to a boil, I reduced the temp and let it simmer. While simmering I sautéed some yellow onion in olive oil. When the kale appeared very tender, I transferred the kale from the pot to the pan with onions. Let this cook down and when most of the water has dissolved, add more oil, bean of choice (butter-beans and chickpeas are always nice) and sprinkle with fresh, minced garlic. Let this cook down a little more, then hit it with a few dashes of salt and pepper.

I served this along with some great onion rosemary bread from Diamond City Bread in Elk River…

Leave a Reply

