Dutch Love

Holland isn’t just windmills and pot brownies…They’re also the creator of Speculoos (spay-cue-loose). I tried this wondrous spread a few years ago when my Dutch friend brought a jar back. It only took nanoseconds and I was hooked. The spread has a consistency that is similar to peanut butter but the taste is like a graham/ginger cookie. Added bonus: it’s VEGAN!

Unfortunately I couldn’t find it in any US stores. So, I was only treated to the spread on rare occasions when my friend had it. However, that was then. Now I can thank Trader Joe’s for offering this new treat for all to try. It’s a bit spendy, $3.70 a jar, but it’s worth every penny. Seriously this is one staple that I would bring with me on a deserted island; I will eat this on my death-bed; it is not to be overlooked.

Leave a Reply

