Smashing Pumpkin Pie

The Smashing Pumpkins is a great band, regardless of what some may say about Billy Corgan’s unique vocal abilities. And making this pumpkin pie made me think of the band. While I didn’t listen to my Siamese Dream CD, I did listen to my new Christmas album, which I encourage you all to purchase (proceeds go to musical education for youth non-profits). Alright enough of my random banter. Here is the recipe:

Smashing Pumpkin Pie

1 ready-made pie crust (dude I am lazy and wince at the notion of making my own crust)

Mix together: 2 c pureed pumpkin, 1 c non-dairy milk, 1 tsp vanilla, 1 tbls apple cider vinegar, and 1/2 c maple syrup.

In a separate bowl mix the dry ingredients: 1/4 c flour, 1 tsp baking powder, 1/2 tsp salt, 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, and 1/2 tsp ground cloves.

Add dry into wet. Pour into pie crust. Bake at 375 for about 40 minutes. Let cool completely (at least 25 minutes).

*note: after trying this pie, there will indefinitely be another trial run. The consistency was pretty mushy and the spice was way too much. If you prefer a mushier and spice-rich pie, then this would delight your taste buds 🙂

5 responses

  1. Most vegan pumpkin pie recipes I’ve seen call for either tofu, blended cashews and/or starch to give a firmer texture. Where did you get your recipe?

  2. It looks like she adapted it from a recipe that called for three eggs and she simply reduced the liquid and added some flour – not going to work! I’d use a recipe from Nava Atlas, Isa, or Fat Free Vegan

  3. I made this one last year for Thanksgiving and I was pretty happy with it. I think I felt there was a certain something missing from the texture but all in all it was my favorite vegan pumpkin pie I’ve had/made. If I had the ability to eat a dozen pies I would come up with the perfect pie recipe but alas, I have not!

Leave a Reply

