Heart Happy

This has been one of the most stressful weeks of my life. On Monday my mom underwent open-heart/bypass surgery. I spent most of the day Monday and all day Tuesday in the ICU with her. When she finally got transferred to a private room, I bought her a tacky balloon and tear-jerking card. I am thrilled to say that she is going home today with a nearly clean bill of health. Due to the trauma of the surgery, she has developed type II diabetes, but this is normal with heart patients and her body should balance itself out in the weeks to come.

From this experience, I am going to work 10x harder at leading a healthy lifestyle. It comforted me, beyond belief, when her heart surgeon praised my vegan diet. (*Note, vegans can still be unhealthy, there are such things as vegan junk foods!) I don’t think my mom plans on converting to veganism overnight, but hopefully I can help her with the transition of giving up unhealthy foods and embracing healthier and delicious foods.

For breakfast, I made a tasty pumpkin oatmeal: 3/4c boiled water (with a few raisins added in to plump); then 1/4c oats, 1/4c-1/2c pumpkin puree, 2 tsp maple syrup (agave would work great too!), a pinch of cinnamon and a pinch of nutmeg. Simmer until everything is cooked. Serve with some walnuts and cool it down with some unsweetened almond milk.

Leave a Reply

