Post-Run Recovery Treat!

Today I kicked it up a notch and ran 5 miles, hoorah! I had plateaued at 3 miles for a while, so it was nice to finally see some improvement. Prior to my run, I threw a new brownie recipe together. Maybe that was my carrot of encouragement as I ran [visualizes warm, gooey brownies]…. At any rate, they turned out alright. The applesauce made them a bit too healthy for me. I am still on a quest to find the best damn brownie recipe out there.

“Death by Chocolate Brownies” courtesy of VegNews

  • 1-1/3 cups granulated sweetener
  • 3/4 cup applesauce
  • 2 tablespoons water
  • 2 teaspoons flax powder
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 1-1/3 cups unbleached white flour
  • 3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup dairy-free chocolate chips (Guittard or Ghirardelli semi-sweet)

1. Mix applesauce, sugar and water

2. Combine flax with 1/2 c water, add into applesauce mixture. Add in vanilla

3. Stir all dry ingredients together, add wet into dry. Fold in chocolate chips

4. Bake at 350 for 40 minutes (I used a 9×9 pan, recipe calls for 8×8 so I only baked for like 35-37min)

5. If you’d like a frosting recipe, check out the link. I hate frosting on brownies, so I skipped it…obviously

 

 

2 responses

  1. http://kateinthekitchen.com/2009/03/21/a-low-fat-brownie-please/

    My tweaks:
    Substituted Ener-G egg replacer for egg.
    Brown rice syrup for corn syrup
    whole wheat pastry flour
    coconut oil instead of canola

    FUDGY and FANTASTIC.
    My fav brownie so far and I am super darn picky with brownies.

    I made them with stevia, back before I got my baking blend. They were pretty slim due to using only 12 grams of stevia to replace almost a cup of sugar bulk! I want to try the recipe using my baking blend. I’ll bet they are ever *better*…

    OMNOM.

Leave a Reply

