Classic Chocolate Chip Cookie

I must be losing my mind, or blogging too much, because I could have sworn I shared this already… So sorry if I am repeating myself. But really, it’s for a good cause: finding the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

When making chocolate chip cookies, I tend to stick to the recipe on the back of the chip bags (fyi Guittard and Ghirardelli semi-sweet chips are vegan) and just veganize the butter/egg parts. My blog reader introduced me to this “healthy” recipe so I thought I’d give it a go. It’s from Julie Hasson’s Everday Dish site. By the way, if you haven’t already subscribed to my blog, you really should…just sayin.

  • 1 cup unbleached all-purpose flour
  •  1 teaspoon baking powder
  •  1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • Dash of fine sea salt
  • 3/4 cup lightly packed light brown sugar
  • 3 tablespoons canola oil
  • 2 tablespoons soymilk or other non-dairy milk
  • 1 tablespoon flaxseed meal, preferably golden
  • 1 tablespoon pure vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup nondairy semisweet chocolate chips
  1. Combine flour, powder, soda and salt, set aside
  2. In a separate bowl combine sugar, oil, milk, flax, and vanilla, stir until smooth
  3. Add flour mixture into wet, stir until just mixed (no more visible dry stuff)
  4. Fold in chocolate chips
  5. Bake at 350 F for 12 minutes

Leave a Reply

