Comforting Chili with Eggplant and Lentils

I had a few eggplants leftover and wanted to do something creative with them. I searched through the indices of a few cookbooks and met my match in Isa’s Appetite for Reduction. Her eggplant lentil chili is actually described as a mole, but subtract the cocoa and you have yourself a hearty chili! I didn’t know exactly how many pounds my eggplants weighed in at, but I guesstimated it was around 2lbs. I freaked a bit when I dumped the cubed eggplants into the pot. I knew they’d cook down, but there seemed to be an overwhelming amount. In the end, it all turned out marvy. (*note to those who seek heat, definitely kick it up with this one…I was making this for diners that are sensitive to heat, but it could use a hotter chili spice, maybe some Habanero peppers?)

Eggplant Lentil Chili

  • 1 tbls olive oil
  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 1 bell pepper, diced (I used orange)
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tbls mild chili powder
  • 2 tsps ground cumin
  • 2 tsps dried oregano
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 1 c dried green lentils, rinsed
  • 4 c veg broth
  • 1 15oz can of diced tomatoes
  • 2 lbs eggplant, peeled and cubed
  1. Saute onion and pepper. When onion is soft (after 5 minutes or so) add garlic. Let that sit for a minute.
  2. Then mix in powders and salt. Add 1/2 c broth, cook for a minute.
  3. After everything seems well incorporated, add lentils, remaining broth and eggplant.

4.  Bring to a boil, once boiling lower to a simmer.

5.  Cover and let chili simmer for 40 minutes, until the eggplant and lentils are soft.

2 responses

  1. This sounds fantastic! And eggplant is one of my favorite (nutrient-lacking) veggies! It’s great. I just made some sort of eggplant stew today, actually, modified from a Vegan Fire and Spice recipe. I’ll have to try this! I like lentils, too!

Leave a Reply

