No Bake Breakfast Bars

After doing some budgeting, I realized I was spending way too much money on granola bars. Which is kind of ridiculous since they seem incredibly easy to make. I came across this recipe in my Google reader from Choosing Raw and tried it out. I was excited to see the use of carob chips. I usually get carob energy bites from the co-ops, but have never baked/prepared much with it before.

I  am quite happy with how they turned out and love that I don’t have to heat up the oven. The only downside is it seems a bit sweet for me. Maybe next time I’ll skip on the raisins and just add in more nuts. Definitely try these out!!

No-Bake Sunflower Seed and Oat Bars, courtesy of Choosing Raw:

  • 2 1/2 cups rolled or quick oats
  • 1 cup sunflower seeds
  • 1/2 cup raisins
  • 1/2 cup carob chips
  • 2/3 cup nut or seed butter of choice
  • 1/2 – 2/3 cup agave nectar (adjust based on how well things stick together)

1) Mix oats, sunflower seeds, raisins, and carob chips in a large bowl.

2) Whisk together nut butter and agave. Pour into oat mixture, and mix well, till everything is sticky and combined. If it’s too dry, add a bit more agave.

3) Press mixture into a shallow baking dish that you’ve lined with foil or saran wrap. Cover with more foil/saran, press well into the baking dish, and refrigerate for 4 hours. Cut into bar shapes, wrap, and keep refrigerated till ready to use. They ought to last two weeks at least.

5 responses

  1. You just solved my problems. I have been wanting to make granola bars for ages, but couldn’t figure out a good way to make them stick together without a copious amount of dates. I also don’t like to buy granola bars — they’re super ridiculously expensive, and ridiculously packaged. But I love eating them! Solution: make these. Why, yes, I will — and soon!

    • Woot! Glad I could help. Feel free to mix it up with the add ins too. Next time I make this, I’ll probably leave out the raisins and carob chips. It was sweet enough with the agave. It could have used more crunch. Maybe almonds?? Yes. Let me know how it goes!!

Leave a Reply

