My Year with CAA

I feel like Doogie Howser, M.D right now. Late at night, e-journaling after a long day. Cue the cheesy 80’s theme song.

Well today was unforgettable. For those who are unaware, today was my last day working with Compassionate Action for Animals (CAA). I cannot thank those enough who came out to bid me adieu. Although technically I am not totally leaving. I plan to serve on the board and attend events when possible. Anyway, tonight made me realize that I have connected with one of the best communities in town. Some of us go by vegans, veg*ns, vegetarians, omnivores, flexitarians, animal lovers, welfarists, abolitionists, and activists; but at the end of the day we all belong to the same community. We are all working on ways to create a better life for animals that suffer day in and day out just to satisfy our “cravings.” Speaking of cravings…want to see the feast we dined on tonight? Sure you do…

Delicious and 100% plant-based. Yumm-may.

I am honored to have worked along with volunteers, staff and board members who have all shared the same vision that I have. Which is why it is bittersweet to step down as Director of Volunteer Programs. I’ve questioned whether or not this decision came too quickly, but no matter what, I will always consider myself an activist. Whether it be through signing petitions, writing to my representatives, keeping up on readings, working on campaigns, engaging in outreach or simply sitting down to eat a plant-based meal.

While my time with CAA flew by, I can honestly say I have grown more in this year than ever before. This growth is greatly attributed to my experience with the organization. I have become much more confident in my abilities as a leader; I have learned to relax and let go – not all deadlines will be met, not all events will thrive, and this is okay; I have stepped out of my cooking comfort zone – from curries to tagine, and even making room for desserts along the way; I have learned to take risks – food permits, who needs them?; and I have learned to not be afraid to voice my opinion, even if it’s likely to fall in the margin.

So I venture down my new path in life with some gusto, knowing that if the going should get rough, I have an entire community only 72 miles away.

I hope you all stay stalkin’ my blog here, as I will try my hardest to keep regular updates with fun recipes and maybe some more philosophic ponderings.

6 responses

  1. I’m so proud of everything you’ve accomplised this year! You’ve def. inspired me to get out there and kick some butt! The party looked like fun and the food looked even better!
    Much love
    Jessika

Leave a Reply

