Butternut Coconut Rice

As previously mentioned, I am on a budget. In addition to this, I will be moving in two weeks, so I am making an advanced effort of cleaning out my fridge/freezer. I had some frozen squash left over from last fall and came across this recipe. Since I already had coconut milk and pink rice, it was a match made in food heaven. This recipe comes from Isa Chandra Moskowtiz’s Appetite for Reduction. If you don’t have this book, I strongly recommend getting it.

Ingredients:

  • 1 c brown basmati rice (I used pink rice)
  • 2 c water
  • pinch of salt
  • 2 lbs butternut squash
  • 2 tsp sesame oil
  • 1 c sliced shallot
  • 1 tbl minced fresh ginger
  • 3 cloves of garlic
  • 1 tsp lime zest
  • 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 3/4 c light coconut milk
  • 1/4-1/2 c veg broth (I just used water)
  • 1 tbl freshly squeezed lime juice

Directions:

  1. Cook rice (add rice, water and pinch of salt)
  2. Preheat oven to 400, bake squash for about 45 minutes
  3. When squash is cool to handle, preheat a large skillet over med-high heat. Sauté shallot in the oil for about 7 minutes. Add ginger, garlic, lime zest, red pepper flakes and salt, saute for 2 minutes, turn heat to low
  4. Scoop the flesh out of the squash into the pan, add the coconut milk. Use a potato masher (fork, what have you) and mash into a creamy consistency. Add rice and stir well. Add 1/4 c veg broth (or water) and mix well. You can add up to another 1/4 c of brother to get a creamier consistency if you want. Add lime juice, salt if needed and enjoy!

4 responses

  1. Made this for my husband last night – neither of us are veg, but I have Appetite for Reduction out from the library and have been itching to try this recipe. It was a lot of fun to make, and paired with some steamed veggies and green salad, made a great meal. I’m eating leftovers at my desk right now – even better the next day! Will definitely make this again.

    • That’s awesome! It’s nice trying out fun, new foods. It sounds like a delicious meal. Thanks for commenting your success with the dish. I love hearing what others think of the recipes I post.

Leave a Reply

