Home Cookin’

I love cooking, especially when all of the ingredients are provided for me. Such is the case whenever I visit my parents. I ask them what foods they want and I go to town whipping up veganized versions. So far I have made potato salad and rice pudding. This morning I made breakfast potatoes with the extra potatoes I had leftover from the salad. Recipes in queue for the remainder of the weekend include lentil tacos and mac ‘n’ cheese.

Potato Salad

  • 2lb fingerling potatoes, cut into 1″ pieces
  • 1/2 c veg mayo (I used Nayonaise)
  • 1/4 c whole-grain mustard (I used a local one that I nabbed from the Farmer’s Market)
  • 2 tsp olive oil
  • 1 small red pepper (1 c)
  • 3 celery stalks (1 c)
  • 1/2 small red onion, diced (1/2 c)

  1. Cook potatoes until tender, but not soft
  2. Whisk together mayo, mustard and olive oil into a large bowl. Stir in pepper, celery and onion
  3. Drain potatoes, rinse under water and drain again. Add potatoes to dressing mixture. Season with salt and pepper
  4. Let refrigerate for at least 3 hours

Raisin Pudding

  • 2 c water
  • 1 c rice (I used white because my dad hates brown…but the recipe calls for brown)
  • 1 1/4 c non-dairy milk
  • 1/3 c raisins (I ended up using 2/3 c)
  • 1/3 c brown rice syrup or maple syrup (my parents only had Aunt Jemima, so I opted for honey)
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/8 tsp ground nutmeg

Cook rice until water is absorbed. Add remaining ingredients and continue to cook until all of the liquid has been absorbed. Refrigerate for a few hours. Serves 3-4.

Leave a Reply

