I Heart Potlucks

I am the jolly green grinch of Valentine’s, however, I must say this Valentine’s was by far the best one yet. Starting on Friday, Ali and I hit up the Dollar Store to gather a few Valentine decorations. For under $20 we picked up: balloons, streamers, tablecloths, candles, candy, bouquets of roses, doilys, and a few other odds and ends. We also nabbed some lovely raspberry vegan candies and dark chocolates from the Wedge.

Saturday kicked off with a lovely potluck held at our 2100 office. Dishes shared included: spicy mangoes, curry, rice/tofu combo, herbed tofu, stuffed dates, pinwheels, olive bread, two types of verde salsa, jalapeño chips, shepherd’s pie, chocolate truffles and lots of heart shaped candies.

The truffles (recipe below) seemed to be a hit amongst the sweets, Shea really loved them.

It was great seeing familiar faces, as well as newcomers who had seen a flier and just decided to stop on by. We dined out to conversations about love, while listening to some love stinks music (courtesy of me and my Pandora mix).

I was sad to see the crew head out, as I headed back to my suburban lair in White Bear to do dishes and watch the Coal Miner’s Daughter. As for the actual day, I dined at my favorite restaurant in St. Cloud/Waite Park: Cafe Renaissance. The evening was shared with two people who are very special to me, and we topped it off by attending a speaking engagement at St. John’s University which welcomed guest Vandana Shiva.

I hope you all had a lovely Valentine’s and encourage you to spend yours next year with CAA 🙂

PS here is my super delicious (vegan/macrobiotic) truffle recipe:

  • 18oz grain sweetened chocolate chips (I used Ghirardelli’s semi-sweet, which probably made it un-macrobitic, but I wasn’t about to pay $8/lb for grain sweetened – which can be found at most co-ops)
  • 2 tbls agar flakes
  • 1 c soy milk
  • cocoa powder, hazelnuts, coconut (whichever topping you wish to roll the truffles in)

Instructions:

  1. Heat 1c soy milk with 2 tbls agar flakes, bring to a simmer
  2. Add in chocolate chips
  3. Stir until chocolate chips are fully incorporated into the soy/agar mixture
  4. Remove from heat, pour into baking pan, refrigerate for at least one hour
  5. Remove from fridge and spoon mixture out, roll into balls, roll balls into desired topping (I chose dark cocoa powder)
  6. Keep cool until serving

Enjoy!!

One response

Leave a Reply

