Blueberry Waffles

My omnivorous friend made a heartwarming gesture by preparing me vegan blueberry waffles for breakfast. It was the perfect way to start my day of vacation.

Unfortunately, this recipe won’t be made again, but I was happy he gave it so much effort. He can’t remember where he found the recipe, but I have a photographic memory when it comes to ingredients. From what I remember this is what it called for:

  • 2 c flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 c sugar
  • 1/4 c oil
  • 1/4 c melted vegĀ butter
  • 1 3/4 c non-dairy milk
  • 3 tsp egg replacerĀ + 4 tbls warm water
  • 1 tsp vanilla

Combine dry; combine wet; whisk wet into dry. Add water to thin out. We threw some blueberries in ours. You can add other fruit, nuts, etc. I think there was too much oil/fat and there wasn’t enough rising action. Baking powder may have helped. The waffles turned out very dense and chewey.

Leave a Reply

