Sunflower Carob Bites

I am in love with my local co-op’s raw cacao and goji bites. Unfortunately, they are super expensive. I’ve had some carob powder on hand for quite some time and finally decided to do something with it tonight. I came across a recipe for carob energy bites, wrote it down, and now am unable to find it on-line. I didn’t follow the recipe exactly, but I still like to show where I came across the idea.

On another note, during my search for the illusive carob energy bites, I came across a different recipe.  I think I will try this one in the future before remaking the one below…

not the prettiest picture...

  • 1 c sunflower butter
  • 3/4 c maple syrup and/or agave
  • 1/4 c carob powder
  • 1/2 c wheat germ
  • 1/2 c oat flour
  • 1/4 c ground flax seeds
  • 1/4 c ground pepitas (pumpkin seeds)
  • 1/2 c sunflower seeds

I mixed the wet, then the dry, and threw it all in the food processor. I am not sure why I did it in such an order. The original recipe called for oat bran, which I didn’t have. I think that may have altered my results. It also called for sesame seeds, not sunflower, whoops. I rolled these into balls and kept them chilled in the fridge until they’re ready to be eaten.

The bites turned out alright. Not exactly what I was looking for, but it will do!

Leave a Reply

