My Thanksgiving Feast

It’s a good thing I took Wednesday off of work and school. It took me a day and a half to make the following menu: sweet potato biscuits, green bean casserole, cauliflower mashed potatoes, savory onion gravy, stuffing/stuffed portobellos, pumpkin pie and baked apples.

The biscuits and potatoes can be found in Isa Chandra Moskowitz’s Appetite for Reduction. The biscuits were just, meh, okay, but the potatoes were awesome. The savory gravy was great, kind of sweet, but not overpowering. And green beans needed more liquid and salt (I am horrible with salting things, I never salt anything!) I am not sure what went wrong with the stuffed portobellos, my caps collapsed on me and all of the stuffing fell out :( And the two desserts were excellent, that pumpkin pie was the best pumpkin pie EVERRRR!

WEDS PREP

Onto the pumpkin pie…

Viola!

Stuffing prep…

Sweet potato biscuits…

Around this time I got lazy and ended up focusing on cooking and less on photographing.

Thursday – GAME day!!

6 responses

    • Thanks!
      No, I have no idea what happened to them. I may have had it in at a higher temperature (I was cooking multiple dishes at once) and that may have caused it to over-cook, but it wasn’t dry or anything. I could’ve also over-stuffed the mushrooms, but I put in 1/2c of the stuffing like she suggested.
      And the pie, oh man, I wish you could try it! Definitely make it sometime down the road, it’s really, really amazing.

  1. Pingback: Belated Christmas Cheer | thevegway

  2. Pingback: Thanksmas 2012 | The Veg Way

Leave a Reply

